26
Aug
08

Indian Mythology, my new love

I have always loved mythology, be it Greek or Roman or whatever, but as I found out recently nothing comes even closer to our own Indian mythology. Honestly I am in love with our Mahabharath, Ramayan and Puranas and all. Of late I am so obsessed with the ancient texts that the only thing I do on my PC is searching for new stories from the epics. I am actually proud of myself cuz I actually know a lot better than my Hindu friends. Am a Christian by the way. But that doesn’t mean I am bad at the Bible. I am pretty sure that I know Bible stories better than Christian friends.

My special love started maybe a couple of months back. That was when the new Mahabharath serial was announced for TV by Ekta Kapoor. Not thatI didn’t know the epics earlier, I knew only the important characters and stories. I started to browse through the net especially wikipedia to know about the characters. The more I read, the more interested I became. To tell the truth the stories are all amazing. All those stories of heroics, incarnations, curses etc immediately appealed to me. The best part of the stories is the incarnations. I was surprised to know Maha Vishnu had a lot more avatars than the presumed Dasavathar.  Everytime evil reaches its maximum, God makes his presence felt – I like this concept.

The epics and Puranas have something more than stories in them. It also teaches us about life. The Bhagwad Gita is a perfect example. Through the Gita, Lord Krishna has told everything there is about being a good human being. The Ramayana has perfect icons like Rama, Hanuman and others are nothing but the personification of life’s virtues. The Mahabharath is one epic which can be related to even modern times. Its all about politics, strategies, tracheary etc. which we see everyday. Shashi Tharoor has in fact written a book called The Great Indian Novel which is nothing but a fictional satire recasting the Mahabharath in the context of the Indian Independence Movement and the first three decades of Post-Independence.

These Epics are something that every Indian is supposed to know. It is quite disheartening to know that many Indians are not aware of the great tales, most are not aware of the sub plots that exists apart from the main story. There are also a few who are entirely not bothered about the epics. In fact there are many who actually think Ram was one of the Pandavas.

1 Response to “Indian Mythology, my new love”


  1. May 15, 2009 at 12:46

    Cheers to know your interest on Indian Mythology. We maintain a website called http://www.indianmythology.com. You find different tales related to Indian Mythology including epics like Mahabharata, Ramayana also folk tales like Panchatantra, Akbar Birbal.This is the website where you can even partcipiate in quizzes related to Indian Mythology, look for different images related to Indian Mythology.
    We have started a survey on Indian Mythology to make the site more appealing, link posted on the site, please visit the site and participate in the survey alongside gaining knowledge on different items related to Indian Mythology.


Leave a Reply

